Sunday, March 28, 2021

The Drowning Kind by Jennifer McMahon



Wowwww!! This whole book was fantastic.. but that ending.. blew me away❤️ Jennifer McMahon is now on my "must read" list of authors. When you have to reread the ending, because you are just in such shock...😳...well you know it was a good one! Creepy, a bit gothic, supernatural, dual timelines...YESSS! πŸ–€We are talking my kind of book!

 A swimming pool made from a natural spring that is rumored to heal people. Sounds wonderful doesn't it? Well everyone in 1929 thought so when a grand hotel was built around this wonderful healing spring pool. Yet tragic event after tragic event happens. Some thought the water was demanding to be paid back for all it gave. πŸ€”

 Fast forward to 2019 when Jax finds out her sister Lexie drowned in that same swimming pool. Funny thing is...Lexie was an excellent swimmer...πŸ€”πŸ˜¬ 

This was so intense, so creepy, so atmospheric! The water was cold, dark and you couldn't see the bottom. Was there even a bottom? 🀷‍♀️The smell...ewww the smell...It made me question why anyone would venture into this pool...given all the people who have died in it...yet they did...they begged for a chance to swim and dip into the pool, even drinking the water. 🀒 

The ending was spectacular for me! As I read the ending, it literally unraveled for me in my mind....I thought..wait..what? Is it? OMG...then I reread it! I can't recommend this book enough! πŸ–€πŸ–€πŸ–€πŸ–€πŸ–€ I will be reading all the backlist books by this author. I can't get enough of her writing! Huge shoutout to Scout Press for my gorgeous gifted copy!

Sunday, March 21, 2021

The Betrayal by Terry Lynn Thomas


 From the USA Today bestselling author comes a gripping thriller about a divorce attorney who’s about to discover her own marriage is based on lies when she’s arrested for murder.

Attorney Olivia Sinclair is shocked when she receives an anonymous video showing her husband Richard sleeping with someone else. After years of handling other people’s divorces, she thought she could recognise a marriage in trouble.

She angrily throws Richard out of the home they share. But days later she’s arrested—for the murder of his mistress.

Olivia knows she’s innocent but, with all the evidence pointing at her and an obvious motive, she must find the real killer to clear her name.

She may be used to dealing with messy divorces, but this one will be her most difficult case yet. Olivia’s husband has already betrayed her—but would he set her up for murder?

A gripping and unputdownable thriller for fans of Gillian McAllister, Alafair Burke and A Killer’s Wife.


: My thoughts

 Olivia Sinclair has the perfect marriage...or so she thought.. Olivia's life is really coming together, she was entering a new stage of life. She was finally retiring from being a highly successful lawyer. She looked forward to spending time with her husband Richard who was a very high profile lawyer. Until...she opens the email..that email someone sent her on her 62nd birthday...Happy Birthday Olivia...your world is going to spiral out of control...starting...now..

This book is a taut, fast paced domestic thriller that kept me turning the pages late into the night. Holy book hangover. I needed to know how someone ended up dead, someone in jail and why Olivia found herself in the middle of all this. Had she been so wrapped up in her career that she missed the signs of everything falling apart around her? 

From being a victim of her husband's torrent affairs, losing her daughter to a controlling son in law..and much, much more....I wondered how Olivia would keep it together....add this one to your list, it is out now!

Thank you to Suzy from Suzy Approved Book Tours for inviting me along on this tour. Also a huge shoutout to Terry Lynn Thomas for my gifted copy.

 


Terry Lynn writes the Sarah Bennett Mysteries, set on the California coast during the 1940s, which features a misunderstood medium in love with a spy. The Drowned Woman is a recipient of the IndieBRAG Medallion. She also writes the Cat Carlisle Mysteries, set in Britain during World War II. The first book in this series, The Silent Woman, came out in April 2018 and has since become a USA TODAY bestseller. The Family Secret released to critical acclaim in March 2019, and House of Lies, the third book in the series, released on March 4, 2020. When she’s not writing, you can find Terry Lynn walking in the woods with her dogs or visiting historical cemeteries in search of story ideas.

http://www.terrylynnthomas.com/


Social Media: 

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/terrylynnthomasbooks/

Instagram: https://instagram.com/terrylynnthomasbooks

Twitter: @TLThomasBooks

Bookbub: https://www.bookbub.com/authors/terry-lynn-thomas




Bloggers On Tour: 

March 17th  - Chill Jill And Read https://instagram.com/chill_jilland_read


March 18th –  Always With A Book – https://instagram.com/k2reader


March 18th -Mrs Boom Reads https://instagram.com/mrsboomreads 


March 19th-  Its All About The Thrillhttps://instagram.com/itsallaboutthethrill


https://www.instagram.com/p/CKXU7vNgG_Q/?igshid=n4z01gfil248 107


March 20th-  Plains Reading https://instagram.com/plains_reading


March 25th -Sealed With A Book https://instagram.com/sealedwithabook


March 29th - Joannas Bookshelf https://instagram.com/joannasbookshelf


April 3rd-Jayme Reads https://instagram.com/jayme_reads


April 5th -Geaux Get Lit https://instagram.com/geauxgetlit


April 8th – Hooked by Books https://instagram.com/hooked.by.books


April 10th - LexiJavahttps://instagram.com/lexijava


April 12th – DB Reads https://instagram.com/db.reads


April 13th - Rozier Reads and Wine https://instagram.com/rozierreadsandwine


April 14th - Bookoholic Cafe https://instagram.com/bookoholiccafe


April 15th - Jodena 1017 https://instagram.com/jodena1017




Sunday, March 14, 2021

The Devil Wears Black by L.J. Shen



 Yessss!! I absolutely loved this book! Just what I neededπŸ–€ I don't always read romance...but when I do...you can bet it will be L.J. Shen! I loved the Kiss Thief, however I loved this one even more. Enemies to lovers anyone?! Yes please!


The devil wears black and this handsome devil is named Chase Black. He had the girl and then he lost the girl...by cheating on her.. Oh Chase...He just couldn't help himself, or so Maddie thought. She hates him, loathes the very ground he walks on, thinks he is the devil...yet when he shows up on her doorstep with a "arrangement" to be his fake fiancee...will she remember just how much she hates him?


This is my idea of a perfect romance book...it was snarky, funny banter...combining two of my favorites-enemies to lovers and fake relationship ...she killed it with this book! Look at that cover! If you think the cover is fantastic, wait until you see what is inside.


Huge shoutout to L.J. Shen for my gorgeous gifted copy! I LOVED it!

Sunday, March 7, 2021

The Girls Are All So Nice Here by Laurie Elizabeth Flynn

 



Wow! This book was shocking, disturbing, dark, twisted...I finished this earlier today and I literally can't shake the feeling this gave me. There are mean girl stories.. and then there is this story. This is one of those books that was so dark.. that you almost feel guilty to say that you enjoyed it..  yet a part of you must have because you couldn't stop.. you couldn't look away...no matter how hard it was to read.. you devoured it. 


Little girls are sugar and spice and everything nice. However, not in a world with Ambrosia and Sloane. These two made college a living hell for some girls...a dual timeline gave us a look at Then and Now. Then was when these two did everything on earth to shock people...SHOWTIME...that is what they would say before they set out to do their best work. Now is when they had the nerve to show up to their college reunion. Unable to resist the temptation to quench their thirst of knowing if someone knew exactly what they had done.


The first half was a slow build but wait for it.. the second half had me glued to the pages. Could it get any more evil? Yes, the answer is yes! The ending was twisted, fantastic and in a dark way...satisfying....


Huge shoutout to Simon & Schuster for my gorgeous gifted copy! I loved it!