Monday, March 18, 2019

My Lovely Wife by Samantha Downing



OMG OMG OMG!!! Yes I am speechless as I finished up my most anticipated book of the year! It not only lived up to my expectations, it far exceeded them! Whew, how is this a debut? I mean really I am floored that this is Samantha Downing's first book. New thriller queen in the house!

I am going to try my hardest not to give anything away, just know you really need to read this. This is one of the most unique and well spun thriller plots I have come across and believe me I have read plenty. Don't think this is another wife and husband thriller with a plot you have read before.

Millicent and her husband have a fantastic loving marriage. Fifteen years of wedded bliss with two wonderful children. Living in the peaceful suburbs they are just the perfect little family. How do they keep their marriage so fresh and their love so strong? They must work hard to keep each other happy. OH my god you have no idea. I have never read about such a dysfunctional couple. I can only say I felt like Millicent was a pet tiger and her husband would secretly bring home fresh meat to feed her. LOL. I have no other way to describe what I read.

It is great when you know from the very first chapter that you are going to love it. The writing style had a raw, edgy humor to it and that is my favorite! I can't quite explain why I got suckered into liking this couple. It is awful to say that no matter what they did, I just couldn't quite hate them. I really didn't want this book to end. I was so wrapped up in their story. When I least expected it this story took a crazy turn leaving me dumbfounded. Did I miss the clues? I think not, it was just so well spun.

Obviously I loved the hell out of this book. I can't recommend it enough. I read this as a group with my fellow Traveling Sisters and we all loved it. Be on the lookout for their review. I sure hope Samantha Downing is banging out a new book in the near future. I for one will be first in line trying to get my hands on it! Now excuse me while I lock all my eye drops up, you know just in case anyone gets any ideas.

Thank you so much to Samantha Downing, Berkley and Edelweiss for this fantastic ARC! 

Tuesday, March 12, 2019

The Girl Across the Street by Vikki Patis



You’re hiding a secret that only she can see.

Her name is Beth. She came into my life when I needed her the most. We lead very different lives, but she’s the only person who understands me.

She was the only other witness to the terrible accident on the street between our homes. The only person who saw the cracks in my perfect life before I had the chance to cover them up.

It’s been so long since I’ve had a friend. Someone to talk to, to listen to, to laugh and dream with.

Beth would never do anything to hurt me.

She only wants what’s best for me, for my marriage.

Doesn’t she?

An unputdownable psychological suspense thriller that will grip you until the very last page. Perfect for fans of Gone GirlThe Girl on the Train and The Couple Next Door.


Buy Links:         


  
My Thoughts

I am over the moon excited to be on this books on tour for The Girl Across the Street. I want to share with anyone that will listen what a fantastic psychological thriller Ms. Patis has managed to turn out. I was literally hooked from the very first chapter and flew through this in a day. I simply could not stand to put it down! I am now nursing a book hangover.

Right from the first page we are on an adrenaline filled ride with this one. It opens with a hit and run resulting in a male jogger lying in the street. Both Isla and Beth happened to be in the area and witness it. They rush to perform CPR but  they are unable to save him. There is no one else to help the two girls because it is 3am and the street is deserted.

As an emergency room nurse I can tell you there is no other bonding experience like witnessing the loss of a life. When you are desperately trying to save someone's life and no matter how hard you try it can not be done. The feeling is devastating and you will always remember who was there with you. That is why it did not surprise me that Isla and Beth had bonded over this traumatic experience. They sought each other out after the incident and soon became good friends.

What did come as a surprise were the secrets, deceptions and lies among most of the people in the book. I began to question why were these two random people outside on the same street at 3am? These girls seemed to have nothing in common, they came from two different worlds. As we dig into their secrets they might have more in common than one would think.

Tense, fast paced, enthralling psychological thriller. Just when I thought we had unraveled all the secrets, another shocking twist comes along. You just want until you read the ending! The author knocked it out of the park with this one. Plan on pulling an all nighter because once you start you won't want to stop reading it! It is well worth the book hangover!
Thank you so much to Bookouture and Vikki Patis for having me along on this tour.







Author Bio:
Vikki Patis is an author and blogger, as well as an avid reader and book reviewer. When she isn’t working as a Regulatory Affairs Manager, she can usually be found drinking tea, baking cakes, or taking walks in the Hertfordshire countryside. She lives with her partner and two cats.

Social Media Links:







Friday, March 8, 2019

Daisy Jones & The Six by Taylor Jenkins Reid

 
 
What a wild ride this was! Taylor Jenkins Reid morphed us right into the 70's and into the rock and roll scene. It doesn't get much wilder than that. I have been dying to read this and have had to use a great deal of self control to put it off closer to the publication date. Brenda from Two Sisters Lost in a Coulee and myself jumped into this for a buddy read. It certainly gave us plenty to talk about!

I watched a recent interview with Taylor Jenkins Reid on a morning show here in the U.S. and she brought up how many people were goggling the band to see if they were real.  Guilty as charged! I must admit when the blurb first came out on this book, I took to google. It just sounded so real. Since I would have been a small child during this time I found myself wondering if this band did exist and I just haven't heard about it? Well by now we all know the answer to that one.

I loved, loved, loved the format of this book. It is entirely in an interview format. I was a bit concerned in the beginning that this might lessen the character development. Instead I felt liked it really let each character's personality shine through. It also let you clearly see how each person had a different perception of the same situation.  Oh my did they!  I found that the interview format made the ending tie in perfectly. I must admit that part really surprised me, you will know what I mean if you have read the book!

If you are in the mood for a little walk on the wild side- here's your book! Definately plenty of drugs, sex and rock and roll! I loved how the author got into the gritty side of it and dug beneath the perceived glamour of fame. Even though this is a work of fiction, I am sure it is not far off from the truth. It's one of those books that will sweep you away into a different time and place.

Thank you so much to Taylor Jenkins Reid, Random House Publishing Ballentine and BookSparks for this ARC




My Summer of Love and Limoncello by Sue Roberts






Three best friends, Italian sunshine and a handsome stranger can fix just about anything… Can’t it? 

Maisie Knight had it all. A gorgeous husband. A successful business. A beautiful home. Until one day, after walking into the storeroom of their shop, she loses it all at once – catching her husband cheating on her with the girl from Checkout 3. So when she wins a holiday to Italy, a week under the Tuscan sun couldn’t come soon enough. 

Treating best friends Cheryl and Emma to a girls’ trip, the terracotta-roofed Villa Marisa on a rustic farm awaits them. The fields of golden sunflowers could be the perfect cure for Maisie’s broken heart – and local farmer, suspiciously perfect Gianni, with his thick black hair and twinkling brown eyes is a welcome distraction from her broken heart.

Mornings waking up to freshly brewed coffee and views of the rolling hills, moped rides with cheeky Italians, and feasts of prosecco and pasta help Maisie forget her troubles. After all her heartache, she’s surprised when she starts opening up to Gianni – she’s even more surprised when the temperature rises and it’s not just the rays of the Italian sunshine…

Maisie could get used to the good life. But just as she’s getting her spark back, disaster strikes. The next thing she knows, her past is catching up with her, reopening old wounds and Maisie has a life-changing decision to make. Should she say ciao to her summer of love and limoncello?

A laugh-out-loud page turner about second chances, finding happiness when you least expect it and the restorative power of Italian food! Fans of Carole Matthews and Sophie Kinsella will be totally hooked by My Summer of Love and Limoncello



My Thoughts


Fun, sun and beautiful landscaping are the perks of this book as we are whisked away to Italy with Maisie and her friends. An absolute delightful read  that had me flipping through the pages.

Maisie felt a sense failure as her marriage dissolved and the recent loss of her mother. Maisie found herself  beginning to struggle with depression and anxiety. Her doctor suggested a vacation where she could relax and spend some time in the sun. As luck would have it she won a trip to Tuscany for two! She grabbed her friends and us and we were all emerged into the charming culture and sights of Tuscany.

This book was so atmospheric I could feel the warmth of the sun and the smell of the fresh pastries baking. The local residents in the quaint village were so welcoming that it helped to mend Maisie's broken heart. In a village where everyone knows each other the presence of the newcomers were defiantly noticed. I found myself wondering how different this trip would have been if she had still been with her ex husband when she won this dreamy trip for two.

Heartwarming, fun and an easy read this book will bring a smile to your face as you flip through the pages. I was instantly transformed into the warm Tuscany lifestyle. Thanks for the vacation Sue Roberts! It was much needed.

Grab your copy here!







About the author
Sue was born in Liverpool and moved to Lancashire as a teenager where she has lived ever since. She has written three books, the third 'My Summer of love and limoncello.' will be published on March 6th and she is busy working on a fourth book. When not busy writing, Sue spends her time with her ever growing family. She enjoys walking, cinema and travelling. Her first book 'My Big Greek Summer.' was inspired by frequent visits to the Island of Rhodes in Greece. All Sue's books are available from Amazon in kindle and paperback format.