Saturday, April 27, 2019

The Dare by Carol Wyer




Jane’s daughter is a good girl. But what is she hiding?

When thirteen-year-old Savannah Hopkins doesn’t come straight home from school as she always does, her mother Jane immediately raises the alarm. With her blonde ponytail and red school jumper, someone must have spotted Savannah.

Detective Natalie Ward is determined to help the distraught mother – her own daughter is the same age as Savannah. But before Natalie and her team can get started, their worst fears are confirmed when the teenager’s broken body is found in nearby shrubland.

Evidence points towards a local recluse, but just as Natalie closes the net around him, one of Savannah’s friends, Harriet, is reported missing. Harriet might look grown up and sophisticated but she is only fourteen…

As Natalie delves into the lives of both girls, she soon discovers a sinister video on both their phones, daring the girls to disappear from their families for 48 hours. She’s sure this is the key to the case, but before she can act, Harriet’s body is found discarded on a roadside. 

Natalie’s superiors don’t have to put any extra pressure on Natalie. Devastated, she and her team work without sleep, watching that video over and over. But just as she thinks they’re getting close, the person Natalie loves more than anything goes missing.

Natalie is no stranger to loss. She is terrified and the clock is ticking. Can she push through her fear to catch this depraved killer, before her loved one becomes the next victim?

This gripping rollercoaster of a read will have you up in the small hours turning the pages. Fans of Angela Marsons, Rachel Caine and Robert Dugoni will love The Dare. 


The Dare by Carol Wyer (Book 3 Detective Natalie Ward crime thriller series)


 My Thoughts



BOOM!!!! Carol Wyer does it again! I can't even express how much I love the Detective Natalie Ward series. I have been anxiously awaiting the third book in this series from the second I finished the last one. I swear this series just gets better with each book.

 You have all heard of the social media challenges that teenagers are taking part of. Have you heard of The Dare? Hang on to your hats people because this one will have you reeling. Teenage girls are going missing shortly after talking about the challenge. Some will never come back, soon to be found by Natalie and her team.

OMG! We get a glimpse into the killers mind as he stalks his next victim. As he waits for school to let out at 3:30 so he can watch the kids. This made my skin crawl. What the flip am I reading? Wait until you hear how they met their fate. I shuddered as I read the details of how the killer planned his kills. I can reveal no more as I want you to be as shocked as I was.

I am not a big fan of detective series but I simply can't get enough of this series. Carol Wyer can't write fast enough for me! The characters are so well developed in this series  that I feel like I know Natalie and her team personally. Hey Nat! Seriously though Natalie has a great story going on in her home life and Ms. Wyer left us with a bit of a cliff hanger. Dare I say we will see another book coming soon? I sure hope so!! #TeamNatalie! I highly suggest you get your hands on The Dare!

I loved this book and I hope you do too! Thanks so much to Carol Wyer and Bookouture for this ARC that was simply fantastic!



Carol Wyer is an award-winning author and stand up comedian who writes feel-good comedies and gripping thrillers.

Her book, GRUMPY OLD MENOPAUSE won The People's Book Prize Award for non-fiction 2015.

Carol moved to the ‘dark side’ in 2017 with as series of thrillers. LITTLE GIRL LOST became the #2 best-selling book on Amazon, #9 best-selling audiobook on Audible and a Top 150 USA Today best-seller.

The DI Robyn Carter and DI Natalie Ward series have sold over half a million copies, earning her acclaim as a crime writer.

Carol has been interviewed on numerous radio shows discussing ''Irritable Male Syndrome' and 'Ageing Disgracefully' and on BBC Breakfast television. She has had articles published in national magazines 'Woman's Weekly' featured in 'Take A Break', 'Choice', 'Yours' and 'Woman's Own' magazines and the Huffington Post.

To learn more about Carol, go to www.carolwyer.co.uk or follow Carol on Twitter: @carolewyer. 
Carol also blogs at www.carolwyer.com




2 comments:

  1. Oh my days! I am so blown away by your stellar review. You have a brilliant way of conveying excitement and enthusiasm that had me gripped and I actually forgot you were talking about MY book! I love that you are so involved with the characters and yes... there are more books to come. Book 4 is written and will be out September 5th and I'm currently writing Book 5 which will be out in December. 6th... more Natalie... more cases and more creepy, scary killers who lurk in the recesses of my mind and terrify me. My sincere thanks for brightening a horrid wet and windy day and for being part of the tour. I love your reviews - all of them ,and will be back to read your next. xx

    ReplyDelete
  2. Thank you so much Carol! I was really excited after reading this book. I think it is clear I loved it! I am so excited to hear there is a book 4 and 5. I will be anxiously awaiting them!

    ReplyDelete