Friday, May 24, 2019

The Woman Next Door by Sue Watson

 

‘Have you ever had a secret that you couldn’t tell a soul, even the people you love? I have.’

Lucy has a kind and adoring husband, a job she loves as a teacher, and a house on Mulberry Avenue with floaty curtains and the softest bed linen. After her troubled childhood, she knows life will never be perfect, but it’s pretty close.

She’s also got Amber, right next door. They never run out of things to talk about. Even if Amber’s life – with her high-profile job and handsome, wealthy boyfriend – is more glamorous than Lucy’s.

But then Amber starts to hint that her life isn’t all it seems, and when she comes to Lucy, terrified, saying that she’s getting threatening messages, Lucy promises to protect her.

The closer Lucy gets to anyone, the harder it is to keep her past to herself. But Amber’s boyfriend has left her just when she needs him most, and she doesn’t have anyone else.

Lucy knows all too well that people aren’t always what they seem. Sometimes they have secrets. And they’d do anything to keep them. Lucy’s still sure: she can trust her friend... can’t she?

Gripping and unputdownable, The Woman Next Door tells a story about the dark side of friendship, and has a final twist that will shock every reader. Perfect for fans of The Girl on the TrainFriend Request, and Clare Mackintosh.
Get your copy here:


 My thoughts


Sue Watson has done it again! 5 fantastic stars for this fantastic, twisty thriller. Since reading her last thriller I have been anxiously awaiting her next one and let me tell you, it is sooooo good! I jumped at the chance to be on this Books-On- Tour!

Come with me to Mulberry Ave where the most exciting thing to happen is book club and the neighborhood BBQ. That is until Amber, the one time celebrity who was climbing her way to the top and is now the local weather girl moves in to number 13.

I found it a bit amusing at first as Lucy seemed star struck with her new neighbor Amber. Lucy was a bit entertaining as she snooped around and spied on Amber, wanting to know her every move. My amusement turned to concern as she quickly seemed obsessed with her new neighbor. As a friendship is forged it appeared to be rather one sided. Amber was totally self absorbed and seemed to take complete advantage of poor Lucy, but was Lucy as innocent as she appears?

As Amber's celebrity status becomes known throughout the neighborhood, she suddenly obtains a stalker. I must admit I found myself questioning if this stalker was the real deal or did Amber just enjoy the attention. Would Amber fake a stalker? 

What a twisted, single white female vibe this had! As things spiral out of control I was not sure who to believe. Without spoiling anything for you I will just recap what to expect...ONE HELL OF AN ENDING!!!! This is a story of secrets and obsession that will have you questioning everyone's motives. Be careful who you let into your life, you never know how it will end.

Thank you so much to Bookouture, Kim Nash and Sue Watson for having me along on this Books-On-Tour. I loved reading this fantastic book!



Sue Watson was a TV Producer at the BBC until she wrote her first book and was hooked. 

A USA Today bestselling author, Sue has written fourteen novels, many involving cake and ice cream which have been translated into several languages and involved a great deal of 'research.' Sue's now exploring the darker side of life with her second thriller 'All Her Secrets,' a dark, twisted tale questioning just how well we know our friends. This new genre doesn't involve baked goods or frozen treats and Sue's hoping the change in direction will be reflected on the weighing scales.

Originally from Manchester, Sue now lives with her husband and teenage daughter in Worcestershire where much of her day is spent procrastinating, eating and watching 'My 600lb Life,' on the sofa.

more info visit Sue's website; http://www.suewatsonbooks.com/

Sue would love to meet you on FaceBook at https://www.facebook.com/suewatsonbooks

Follow Sue on Twitter @suewatsonwriter

3 comments:

  1. Thanks so much Brenda! This author is quickly becoming a "must read" for me!

    ReplyDelete
  2. I wrote about a similar issue, I give you the link to my site. Giejo

    ReplyDelete