Sunday, February 2, 2020

Dreaming of Verona by T.A. Williams






Dreaming of Verona
Verona is the City of Love. But will Suzie find romance there or, like Romeo and Juliet, will it all end in tears?
When Suzie is hired to accompany spoiled, abrasive Lady Alexandra Tedburn on an all-expenses paid holiday to Italy, she fears the trip will be a disaster.
But she soon discovers there’s more to Alex than shopping and tantrums, and she’s determined to help her realise her potential – against Alex’s authoritarian father’s wishes.
As they settle in Verona, Suzie can’t stop thinking about local artist Michael, who is still mourning the tragic death of his wife. With Suzie’s future uncertain, and Michael’s past
holding him back, it seems there’s no hope for romance in the city of
star-crossed lovers… or is there?
A gorgeously uplifting and moving story, Dreaming of Verona is the perfect read for fans of Holly Martin, Tilly Tennant and Jenny Oliver.

Purchase Links

 


My Thoughts




Oh my gosh, I just loved this book so much. It was witty, fun and just plain wonderful. It made me feel all warm inside and happy. How is that for a recap? Really it did though.

Suzie Cartwright has a PhD in English and is in between jobs. So what harm would it be to help Lord Tedburn out and travel with his daughter to Verona for a couple of months? She understood that she would be keeping Alexandra out of trouble and reporting back to her father. Earning herself a cushy free place to stay and a generous salary why not? Then he drops the bomb that his daughter is 26. Whattttt????! Instantly Suzie wants to back out from this deal. Why on earth would a 26 year old need a babysitter? Nothing good could come of this.....yet she agrees to do it. You may be surprised at what happens next.

Whisked away to Verona, Italy was a dream come true for Suzie and I can see why. Home to the timeless love story of Romeo and Juliet, she loved the history of Verona. The beautiful setting and the wonderful people. Would she find her true love there too?

Ohhhh I could just gush talking about this book...I guess I am...there was nothing NOT to absolutely love.  I won't reveal much more because there are so many surprises in this book that need to reveal themselves to you, instead of me stealing that away. Suzie met so many wonderful people, that I was truly kept in the dark the entire time as to if she was going to find her Romeo in one of them or not. It kept me hanging on until the end and I must admit I did get a bit emotional at the very ending. Yes I may have teared up a bit.

Let's talk about the dog...OMG the dog is awesome. I did not know this until recently, but the author always includes a Black Labrador in all of his books as a tribute to his late dog. As a fellow dog lover this just stole my heart. I love that he does this and even though I loved all the characters in this book, Dogberry made my heart happy.

This was in fact my first T.A. Williams book and I can't recommend it enough. I loved the easy writing style, the witty humor and just everything about it!

Thank you so much to Rachel from Rachel's Random Resources for having me along on this blog tour!!


Author Bio – I’m a man. And a pretty old man as well. I did languages at university a long time ago and then lived and worked in France and Switzerland before going to Italy for seven years as a teacher of English. My Italian wife and I then came back to the UK with our little daughter (now long-since grown up) where I ran a big English language school for many years. We now live in a sleepy little village in Devonshire. I’ve been writing almost all my life but it was only seven years ago that I finally managed to find a publisher who liked my work enough to offer me my first contract.
The fact that I am now writing romantic comedy is something I still find hard to explain. My early books were thrillers and historical novels. Maybe it’s because there are so many horrible things happening in the world today that I feel I need to do my best to provide something to cheer my readers up. My books provide escapism to some gorgeous locations and, as a writer, I obviously have to go there in person and check them out first. I love my job… 


Social Media Links –




No comments:

Post a Comment