Monday, July 15, 2019

Lucy's Last Straw by Debbie Viggiano




 It was the toothpaste smeared around the sink that broke my marriage. As I rubbed it away AGAIN, I was reminded of everything else I’ve put up with these twenty-five years. My husband’s obsession with his pension, his ability to charm me into every single one of his ideas, never being taken on a romantic date, let alone ravished on the patio (like the woman who lives next door)… small things, but the realisation was huge. 

Just when Lucy Jones thinks her marriage is about to screech to a halt over toothpaste, her husband, Leo, announces he wants to move to tumbledown (clapped-out) Rose Cottage, and Lucy knows she’ll be the one managing the renovations.

Then along comes gorgeous builder Will, ten years younger and the only person actually listening to Lucy. His twinkly eyes and blowtorch smile are causing Lucy to break out in a hot sweat – but is it love, lust or simply dodgy hormones that are causing her heart to flutter?

Lucy loves her husband, but everyone knows that little things build up. And then they explode. Can Lucy keep it together, or will there be one last straw she might not be able to get over?

A laugh-out-loud romp with an ending that will make you gasp! Perfect for fans of Tracy Bloom, Sophie Kinsella and Dawn French.





 My Thoughts


I loved this book! OMG I flew through this book in one day. I found it so entertaining and hilarious I just could not put it down. This is my second book by Debbie Viggiano and I must say I absolutely love her writing style.

365 days a year...for 25 years...that is 9,125 times of cleaning the damn toothpaste off the sides of the sink!  Lucy was cracking me up as she came up with these perhaps "menopausal" thoughts as her life was quickly moving into another chapter. Her husband Leo of 25 years was constantly on her radar as every single thing he did pretty much irritated her. How much was actually Leo and how much was just Lucy's own issues as she realized she is fast approaching 50 and her children have left the nest?

As Leo  pretty much forced Lucy into yet another adventure of renovating a new home called the Rose Cottage- aka the dumpy cottage he got for a steal, they hire a builder. This builder has more plans than just fixing up the cottage! Will Lucy be able to resist the attention of the younger hunky builder?

This book was simply adorable, funny, crazy and made me laugh. I literally found myself smiling and laughing at all the crazy situations. If you want a feel good read that you can't put down, grab yourself a copy! 5 fantastic stars!

Thank you so much to Noelle Holton and Bookouture for having me on this Books on Tour. Thank you so much to Debbie Viggiano for this fantastic book that I loved!




Prior to turning her attention to writing, Debbie Viggiano was, for more years than she cares to remember, a legal secretary. She lives with her Italian husband, a rescued pooch from Crete, and a very disgruntled cat. Occasionally her adult children return home bringing her much joy... apart from when they want to raid the fridge, or eat her secret stash of chocolate. Follow Debbie's (intermittent!) blog: www.debbieviggiano.blogspot.com Tweet @DebbieViggiano or look her up on Facebook!


Author Social Media Links:
 



1 comment: